Guest Reviews of Manhattan Studio in Prewar Building

Manhattan Studio in Prewar Building
inquire | location | factsQueen Size BedP K George from Cary, NC 27513; August 2017:
'Satisfactory for a short stay . Reasonably clean apt .A/C and local TV stations and kitchen appliances work. There was no bugs. Mariam is available to answer any problems and she gets them solved Bath room is tiny and bath room sink is micro size . Toilet bowl is ancient . A small dining area with a large high table and two high chairs are in the kitchen Takes up a lot of area in the kitchen area.It would be better if the dining ars table is about 29 inch ht . There is a huge plastic chair in the bed ars which occupies the entire space. If yltgr chair is smaller it would give some room to walk to bd with out hitting the furnitures. Lastly there is not much of lights and power sockets in the room . I had to bring my own lamps and extension cords Over all it is OK for NY city .'

Hans Herrmann from Seattle, Us; May 2017:
'Unfortunately we had to leave the apartment after staying one night. It was not suitable for us. We also found a cockroach in the bathtub. We are looking for a refund. '

Hans Herrmann from Seattle, Us; May 2017:
'Unfortunately we had to leave the apartment after staying one night. It was not suitable for us. We also found a cockroach in the bathtub. We are looking for a refund. '

Beatrice Boittou from La Saline les Bains, Reunion island; April 2017:
'My husband and I spent a wonderful time in NYC last March.The flat had everything we needed with a nice arty touch. The location is perfect for opera and museum lovers... and others! Myryam was very reactive and checking in & out was very easy. Highly recomanded.'

Isaiah Iventosch from Wilmington, United States; January 2017:
'This apartment was absolutely lovely! My boyfriend and I had an absolutely amazing time here, and we cannot wait to return! The owners were extremely helpful and kind to deal with. The apartment is in the perfect section of Manhattan, with perfect access to transportation and fantastic restaurants! Would recommend to everyone!'

Michele Hedges from Lebanon, USA; December 2016:
'We loved staying in this Manhattan studio apartment! It was absolutely perfect! The location could not be better. It was across the street from the subway and was two blocks from Central Park. We picked this apartment specifically for watching the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade. We simply walked the two blocks, watched the parade, and was back in the apartment to catch the last half on TV! We had plenty of room in the apartment and the bed was incredibly comfortable. It had great heat but we simply opened the large windows and were very comfortable. We would definitely stay there again. '

Marco Grilli from Borgo Ticino, Italy; November 2016:
'Very good position, small but clean and characteristic apartment. I strongly recommend.'

Daniel Harper from Amarillo, United States; October 2016:
'We loved the location! Near subway, near the park, easy to get to most anything we wanted to do. Food, shopping, and places to eat are all close. Very clean, comfortable room, liked the bed, lots of natural light (not a good view). Older building in a good neighborhood. We felt safe walking everywhere in the area. The room is compact, but we found it very functional and used the kitchen everyday. We would stay hear again. '

Ann from Sydney, Australia; August 2016:
'I have written lots, too much perhaps, but the short and sweet version is: Loved it, will definitely try to book it for any and all return trips. Good value in the expensive NYC market. Not a fancy-pants option, but I don't need fancy-pants :-) Clean, secure and quiet. Close to public transport and other amenities. Miriam was very pleasant to deal with and responsive to any questions I had. I'm very happy I discovered this apartment. For the long version, get a cup of coffee and read on... I really liked this apartment. It was so nice to arrive after a 20+ hour flight from Australia. The trip from JFK is very easy: Air Train to Jamaica, LIRR to 34th Steet Penn Station and then catch the Line 1 express train uptown to the 72 Street - which had a lift/elevator for those pesky bags! The apartment was literally a 4 minute walk from the Metro and the entry to the building and apartment went flawlessly as per instructions. Again I appreciated there being a lift available for my luggage. The apartment was very clean, and bright because of the many windows - all of which have blinds or curtains so you can sleep in if you need to re-align your body clock, or just sleep in! (One of the huge bonuses of an apartment like this over an hotel in my opinion.) The layout is rather good, with the kitchen and bathroom at one end with a short passageway (where the closet is) to the bed/living area. I was traveling solo, but having that separation would be a boon for those that have different waking and coffee making patterns. The bed and pillows were comfortable and there was extra bedding in the passageway closet - though as I stayed in July, this was not required. There were position adjustable LED bed lights (not shown in photos) that were mandatory for my love of reading in bed. The new in-window air conditioning unit worked well in cooling the apartment, but as one who is a bit noise sensitive, it seemed somewhat loud when trying to sleep. I forgot that I had Qantas ear plugs from the flight over - doh! I never switched on the TV during my 9 night stay so cannot comment, but the WiFi was great and never let me down. The dressing table was great for doing some unexpected work from home on the computer. The kitchen had everything I needed - though I may donate a large salad bowl on my next visit - yes I plan on returning! Having dish washing liquid, coffee filters and paper towels etc. supplied may seem trivial, but some places don't provide them, and they are just the things you need a little of for the visit and resent having to buy for a short stay, so they were much appreciated. I liked having the table and stools so I could read the paper while eating and again appreciated the separation from the living area. The bathroom is very compact, but fine for me as a sole traveler. The water pressure is good and the hot water consistent. The basin is tiny so the hand washing of a few items was my only problem. The window opens (as do all in the apartment, which I loved) so you can let out the steam, but you need to close it before you leave for the day as it opens onto a fire escape. Some toiletries were supplied, but I brought my own. The shower curtain - as all shower curtains tend to be - was a bit too affectionate, but was of a stiff material so I could manipulate it to give me a bit more space. The shower is over a narrow bath, so practice you tight pirouettes :-) but clean and seems to have had a refurbish some time over the last few years. The building itself was quiet and with only three apartments on each floor, there was very little noise from the neighbours. Within the apartment I heard some music one day and some footsteps from the floor above but it was minimal and not intrusive. The lift was out of action one day for maintenance but the building Super left a clear note days in advance regarding this, so it was the stairs down, and I planned my return according when the lift was back up and running. I'm a big recycler, so was happy that the bins in the basement were clearly marked and easy to get to. The laundromat just up the road always had machines and staff available, was very clean and used credit cards rather than coins - so no hording of quarters required anymore! All up, I was really happy with this place - can you tell? I don't need bells and whistles. I like a fair price, comfort, and cleanliness. I loved the lift because I always over pack and buy too many books. I love that it is so close to the Metro and that there are excellent markets nearby (Trader Joe's, Fairway, Westside, Zabar's) where I can get my French Roast for the coffee machine and everything else! I love that the AMC Lincoln Square cinema is just a 7 minute walk away heading towards downtown and a Barns and Noble 15 minutes walk in the other direction. To say nothing about Central Park being so close! Miriam, who was my contact person regarding the apartment, was really nice to deal with and quick with her email replies both before and during my stay. I had absolutely no issues with the place at all, but if I had, I have every faith that she would have solved them immediately. My damage deposit was paid back promptly without me having to request it. It will be my first choice for return trips to NYC - just miffed that my visit dates in September were already booked :-( Enjoy, Ann. '

Xiying Huangfu from Taizhou, China; May 2016:
'This place is really artsy. The location is great. It's really close to the subway station and there is a big Duane Reade and Trader Joe's across the street. The neighborhood is also quiet but lively at the same time.'

Jill from Ohio, USA; May 2016:
'This was a sweet place to stay! The location is excellent, the building quiet and secure, and while furnishings are few they are more than adequate. Comfortable bed! I stayed a week and was grateful for the proximity to the subway (half a block away), lines 1, 2, & 3 -- and being so close to the Fairway Market was another plus. I highly recommend this apartment to a couple who plan to spend most of their time out and about in the city. (That's why we come, right?) Logistics were very easy and efficient, the owner accessible at all times. '

Dominik Studer from Basel, Switzerland; April 2016:
'The apartment was very good . the residential location was very good . Underground station right near . Central Park near , Times Square was easy to reach on foot'

Elizabeth Fashingbauer from Chicago, United States; April 2016:
' Convenient location to the subway, Trader Joe's and Lincoln Center. I was worried about the return of the deposit, but took lots of photos of before and after, reported every thing I saw that did not seem right, and deposit was returned promptly. Enjoyed my stay.'

Katie from Gig Harbor, USA ; December 2015:
'Perfect place to stay for one or two people. Very convenient location, subway is just a block away, Central Park about two. Restaurants, drug stores, and other necessities right in the neighborhood. Apartment has everything you need, though we were so busy we didn't spend much time there other than to sleep! The owner was very responsive through email and was willing to coordinate early check in. Would stay here again.'

Madyna Diallo from Valenton, France; December 2015:
'Very good location, close to the subway and to the center of Manhattan, many shops and restaurants nearby, a few steps away from Central Park. Very nice and functional apartment where it was pleasant to stay. I'll be back there with pleasure :-)'

Sean McGee from seattle, United States; November 2015:
'This is our second visit to the studio apartment, and we were just as happy with it. It has a great location for walking around the UWS, and the kitchen is handy. We love that they have a stovetop espresso pot too! The new loveseat is a very nice touch.'

Dennis Brandt from Corona, CA, USA; October 2015:
'We had a great time! The apartment is clean and well stocked; clean linens, towels, etc. The address is centrally located to all venues and is great for walking!'

Margaret Aslanis from Sydney, Australia; September 2015:
'Ideal location near the 72nd street subway. Restaurants and food outlets abound. The unit is ideal for couples. The apartment is accessible by elevator. It is clean, organised and quietduring the night. The Internet connection is good. We had a most enjoyable stay.'

Lana Potels from San Francisco, USA ; May 2015:
'Wonderful location, can't wish for better, at reasonable price. Close to every point of interest. Clean. Small, for two people only. No views from windows, not very comfortable mattress. But you wouldn't come to NY to look at windows or sleep all day long, right? '

Kate Kaufman from Santa Cruz, California, USA; April 2015:
'This apartment worked well for my wife and me on our recent visit to NY. I love the location. The place was clean and comfortable. The price reasonable by Manhattan standards. The communication with Mgr. Miriam was good. There is nothing fancy here, and it is somewhat cramped with only a view of the backs of other buildings. However, the tradeoffs were worth it for us.'

Bruce W from , ; February 2015:
'Positive: Clean Good location Neutral: It is a studio - small everything Negative: No heat on 1st of 3 days. Then heat was on and off for the next 2 days Low water pressure Only warm water first day - cold shower '

Karen Mohr from Denver, CO, USa; November 2014:
'Great apartment and location! Very clean, quiet and well-equipped, and very close to Lincoln Center and Central Park. Friendly, helpful and responsive management. Highly recommended!'

Karen Mohr from , ; November 2014:
''

Stephen Terrones from Blanchard, OK, USA; November 2014:
'The apartment was in a perfect location, near subway and bus stops, near places for healthy dining, around the corner from a market and pharmacy. Although most of us don't use much snail mail any more, the post office was but a few blocks away. Despite being accustom to more elbow room, the apt was all that we needed for our stay in NYC. The place was clean with plenty of windows. My one suggestion would be to have at least one chair that was upholstered and a comfy reading chair. The acrylic ones were stylish, but I like cozy when reading. Oh yes, we were but a few blocks from Central Park. '

maria mesa from miami beach, United States; October 2014:
'We stayed in the apartment in October 2014 and we enjoyed our stayed very much. The apartment is nice and specially very clean. The area where is located is a very nice area of Manhattan, and the subway station is very close. I would come back to this apartment and will recommend it to friends and family.'

HDavid Kaplan from Federal Way, WA, U.S.A.; October 2014:
'This is the second time that I stayed at this apartment. I was there last in February 2012. Since then, the bathroom has been refurbished and there are new kitchen cabinets and counter top. Updating improved an already convenient situation. Location is ideal. A very comfortable stay.'

Joyce Stith from Sarasota, Florida, US; September 2014:
'The location of the apartment is wonderful--at the corner of West 71st Street where it intersects with Broadway and Amsterdam. The apartment is newly furnished with a large double bed and a large screen television in the bedroom. The kitchen is small but provides all that is necessary for comfortable living: stove, refrigerator, table, and two chairs. The bathroom imcludes a tub with a shower in it.'

Marsi E from San Diego, USA; July 2014:
'We absolutely enjoyed our stay at this apartment! We were fortunate enough to visit NYC when the weather was perfect. We did use the A/C which worked perfectly, although it was a little loud. We loved the windows all around the apartment so it never felt stuffy. It has a furnished kitchen which was a perfect size for cooking breakfast. The place was nicely decorated. It was a perfect spot for two of us and the location is ideal. Safe and quite neighborhood. Located right by the 72nd Street subway station, a market around the corner, two blocks from the Park…you can’t get a much better place than this! We were able to meet Michael during our stay. Very kind man and comforting to know that he lives right in the city should we have a problem. I would definitely go back and stay at this apartment or any other places that Michael and Christina own.'

Pamela Harrigan-Young from Raleigh, United States; June 2014:
'I enjoyed my time at this Manhattan Studio apartment! I was visiting NY city alone, so it was important for me to feel safe as I entered and exited at various times of day and night. The location is a hop, skip, and jump from the subway, and a Trader Joes. Very quiet for the most part, and a wonderful get-away spot. I would stay here again!'

Yvonne Wong from Bellevue, United States; June 2014:
'Location cannot be beat. It's convenient to everything, including Metro and there's a nice cafe across the street. Picture does show how apartment is furnished and laid out. The apartment is clean. A/C is a little noisy but cooled off the space rather quickly. We were there when weather was not too hot and only needed to turn on A/C for about 1/2 hour at night and then in the morning when we are up. It would be nice if they also furnish an extra set of linens for our week long stay to avoid having to do laundry in between. Plumbing is dated but all in all a nice stay. We would do it again. '

Sally Bethart from Gainesville, FL, USA; May 2014:
'The apartment was just what we needed. The space is small but nice. No compliants. Would stay again.'

Diane K from Greenbrae, USA; February 2014:
'The place was small but was in a very good location. It was near the subway and a secure bldg. It was clean and very functional. It was a back apt so the sunlight and not any views. That would be a choice I would make if renting an apt in this building or others owned by same person. Checking in and check out time were like a hotel and in my previous vrbo they let us come and go whenever we liked and that had it's advantages'

Steph from London, United Kingdom; February 2014:
'The location is perfect. The apartment is a small but has everything you need re: kitchen with good internet connection, etc. The radiators are a bit noisy at night but they were warm which was needed in the depths of winter! Thanks.'

from , ; January 2014:
'Nice place. Clean. VERY convenient! Small - but you will be living like a New Yorker. Michael & Christina very responsive. Hot water availability is an issue but is solved by letting the hot water run for about 15 minutes before using - it happened in old building in NYC.'

Nancy Joines from Albemarle, NC, 28001; December 2013:
'Exactly as advertised which means no unpleasant surprises. We were very pleased with the location - nice, relatively quiet street but close to Broadway and to Central Park. There's a Trader Joe's right across the street. We would definitely stay here again.'

Liv Folmar from Columbus, GA, USA; December 2013:
'Cute loft style apartment, perfect for 2 people only. Featured all the accommodations necessary for a comfortable stay. I particularly liked having the separate kitchen area. Having stayed in hotels in the past, I much preferred my stay here. Located basically across the street from the 72nd Street Subway made transportation a breeze. Also located within walking distance from Columbus Circle, Central Park, Museums, Lincoln Center, shopping and dining. My only suggestion would be to expand cable TV to include more than 4 local stations, however that being said, the Wi-Fi connection was great! Would I stay again, most definitely! '

Ashley Federico from New Orleans, US; November 2013:
'My husband and I had a wonderful stay here for our 10yr anniversary! The apt is clean, spacious for two, and the building is very quiet. Location is wonderful! Walk to Central Park, 72nd St Subway, and easy walk to Times Square. Great restuarants near by. Levain's Bakery around the corner (best cookie ever!) What more could we ask for? Thanks Michael and Chrisitna!'

D. Rinkel from Boston, USA; November 2013:
'Good place to stay for 3 nights in NYC. Clean, fairly quiet for city apartment, great location (near Lincoln Center, Central Park, and subway and bus lines). Would stay again if visiting New York.'

Joyce Stith from Sarasota, USA; September 2013:
'My husband and I love this place and return here for a month every summer. The location can't be beat! It's on the Upper West Side at the corner of 71st and Broadway near Trader Joe's, the Apple store, Lincoln Center, Verdi and Central Parks, and the 72nd Street subway station. The apartment itself is carefully designed to give you not just the standard kitchen, bedroom, and bath amenities but also a microwave, television with digital cable, wireless Internet, and lots of light. Should there be anything else you desire, your hosts, Michael and Cristina, are eager to supply it.'

Jose Iujvidin from Buenos Aires, Argentina; July 2013:
'Happy to be back to Michael&Cristina Studio in Manhattan's Upper West Side. I had a great week (even with the longest heat weave in 20 years!). Beatiful spot, there's nothing to complain about but if there's something, be sure you will be satisfied right away. Hope I come back soon and meet Michael&Cristina!'

Martha Blattenberger from Greencastle, PA , USA ; July 2013:
'This was a perfect place for what my daughter and I needed for our week stay in NYC. Location was perfect, close to Trader Joes, Duane Reed, Starbucks, and the Subway. Away from the crowds, but a close enough walk. VERY quiet location. Very easy to find, super clean, awesomely comfortable bed, elevator was a plus. All appliances worked. For the size being, it was a open area. Checking in and out was much simpler than staying in a hotel, not to mention the price, much cheaper than a hotel room in midtown. Security deposit was refunded almost instantly. '

Ken Sherman from Boston, USA; May 2013:
'It's small (especially the bathroom), not enough electric light in the main room, if you are sleeping next to the wall you have to climb over your bedmate; but, it's amazingly quiet for NYC, it's clean, the bed is comfortable, and the location is great. Recommended as a place from which to experience New York City. Don't miss the High Line!'

Jimmy Galle from , United States; February 2013:
'Apartment was in a great location and was a comfortable place to sleep...right across from main subway line and all the stores to stock up your needs. Small amenities like the water purifier were a nice touch as well....But... The water pressure was horrible...2 out of 10..only reason it got 2 was because there was a drip...but not much more...you have to move around under the shower head to actually wet or rinse...if you like a decent hot shower when its 25 degrees outside this is not the place for you...at the january rate (that was very reasonable) maybe you make an allowance but for $175-200+ per night you can do much better.'

Elise Hoffman from Calgary, Canada; September 2012:
'The studio apartment was clean and had everything we needed. The location is fabulous, close to everything ... Central Park, the subway, museums, shops and restaurants. We enjoyed our stay.'

Joyce Stith from Sarqsota, Florida, USA; September 2012:
'The location of this apartment can't be beat: at the corner of 71st and Broadway. Lincoln Center, the Apple store, Trader Joe's, and Zabar's plus all the joys of the Upper West Side of Manhattan are within easy walking distance, and should you want to venture farther abroad, the 72nd Street Metro station is a block away. The apartment is small, but it has everything you might need including a complete kitchen with a microwave, a comfortable double bed and a wireless Internet connection.'

Laura B from Tucson, USA; August 2012:
'The studio is in the best possible location if you are looking on the UWS -- seconds from the subway, easy access to the Park and Lincoln Center. It was easy to get in and out of the apartment -- no hassles. It is very small even for a couple, mostly because the bed is large and takes up most of the space, and a few things did not really work (lamp, shade). The bathroom is a NY bathroom which means cramped and little water pressure. But in every other way it is a great place to stay. I would recommend it highly, especially if you are familiar with NYC apartments; you'll probably find that i is a decent value and comfortable. Above all, if you are not spending time in the apartment (which we did not- much) it is ideal.'

Carl Graham from Denver, USA; June 2012:
'The studio met our needs. It was clean and pretty quiet. It was close to the subway, 1/2 block away, and plenty of good places to eat close by. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning worked very well. The kitchen had everything we needed. The neighborhood feels very safe, both during the day and at night. The Wi-Fi was very slow, I think because other apartments shared the same server. The room needs some upkeep. The curtains are a little stained and worn. The shower/tub combination had very low water pressure. This was strange since all the sinks’ faucets had plenty of pressure. It would be nice if they would provide additional bath and kitchen towels, there were only two large bath towels and one kitchen towel. It would also be nice if they would upgrade the cable TV service so there would be better choices of programs to watch. If I return to NYC I will consider staying here again as there was nothing that I felt was a show stopper, and its location is great. '

Al from , Australia; January 2012:
'nice apartment in a good location. very close to subway, restaurants and shops. Fantastic coffee place very close called Choco Bello. Was our home away from home for a month. easy process to book, check in and check out. there is 3 laundromats on the same street that you can utilise. good internet. very basic cable. would stay here again and recommend to friends.'

Lauren & Dan St.Germain from Edmonton, Canada; November 2011:
'We just got back from our stay to NYC and had an amazing time. Thank you Michael and Cristina for the use of your apartment. Although it is small it is more than enough space to feel at home in! We spent a week here and never felt cramped, the apartment was very clean and live able. The building is very safe and secure and the location couldn't be better! I reccomend the subway system we got around very effectively with the train stations within a block or so of the apartment. What a great trip, what a great alternative to a hotel! Thanks again. '

Benjamin Ramirez from Merida, Mexico; November 2011:
'Great location in a nice neighborhood. Few steps from the 72nd St. Subway stop.'

Lore L from Irvine, USA; October 2011:
'The studio apartment was the perfect little haven for our brief stay in NYC. It was everything they promised and it was so easy to get around the city from there. '

Lore L from Irvine, USA; October 2011:
'The studio apartment was the perfect little haven for our brief stay in NYC. It was everything they promised and it was so easy to get around the city from there. '

Wendy Kellock from Melbourne, Australia; October 2011:
'This apartment is a winner for four important reasons: it is clean and fresh (with modern stove and refrigerator); it is in a great location (close to subway lines and Central Park); it is quiet (surprisingly, considering its proximity to Broadway and Amsterdam Ave); and it feels light and airy (being high up and with several windows, which can be opened). One complaint: lighting - I couldn't get the desklamp or the bedlight to work, which meant using the kitchen table for writing and reading, and the high chairs there soon become quite uncomfortable. One improvement: some local information, e.g, about Fairway, and particularly about the subway (not very tourist-friendly, in spite of millions of visitors to NY annually; fortunately I brought a map with me, for none of the stations I went through had any information at all).'

Joyce Stith from Sarasota, Florida, USA; September 2011:
'We loved our stay in this apartment, waking up every morning to the sun glimmering on the sheer golden curtains. It met all our needs and is in the best location in Manhattan at Broadway and 71st between Tasty Cafe, Lincoln Center, Central Park, and Trader Joe's. And there's even a Duane Reade with a resident doctor nearby in case out-of-towners have medical questions. '

Gerald Romano from Seattle, USA; July 2011:
'This apartment is in the perfect location. Being across the street from the 1,2,3 subway at 72nd makes the entire city easily accessible. It is also very quiet, has a comfortable bed and there is enough closet space for two people and their suitcases. It is a place we would stay again. One thing we would change is having only one set of keys. This can get very tricky if you and your traveling companion are not together all the time. '

Kent & Kelsey Z from Vancouver, Canada; July 2011:
'First off, we'd like to say that we had a wonderful time in New York. The location is perfect and only a short walk to Central Park and an even shorter walk to the Subway. The bed was very comfortable and with the A/C right next to the bed we had no trouble sleeping on hot nights. One inconvenience that could be improved upon for future guests was that they charged for extra towels. We stayed a week and were only provided two face towels, two hand towels and two bath towels. We had to contact their cleaner and arrange for her to drop off two bath towels, which cost us $15. For how long we were staying and for how hot the weather was we felt that at least one extra set of towels would be a courtesy they could extend to their guests. Other than that one improvement that could be made we would like to say how much we enjoyed our stay and although we spent very few waking hours in the apartment we were very impressed with the quality of the apartment and the comfort that it provided for us at a very reasonable price. If and when we come back in the future we would definitely consider staying at this apartment again.'

Fred Lossman from Nevada City, CA, USA; June 2011:
'The location of this apartment is perfect. It's a few steps from Broadway, two blocks from Central Park and a short distance to Lincoln Center. We did not use the kitchen. Restaurants, vendors, cafe's are plentiful and inexpensive if you take the time to check. The apartment is very small and is badly in need of upgrading/refurbishment. Checking the luggage can be a hastle. If not available in the apartment the next choice is to leave it at another apartment about seven blocks away.'

Klaus Dreissigacker from Frankfurt, Germany; April 2011:
'We had a very good time in NYC and in the apartment. The location is just perfect in terms of traffic and shops around. We liked the apartment very much, because of its private and nice ambience. The onliest flaw is the bathroom / bathtub which has urgently to be done up. Thank's for all. Sincerly, Klaus'

lynn m from port angeles, use; February 2011:
'We had a great 4 night stay. The apartment is in a great location, especially for Central Park and Museums, but also great food and shopping. It was very comfortable and surprisingly very quiet. The check-in and check-out procedures were simple and smooth. It is in a very old New York building, so you get what comes with that (tight spaces, funking shower, TINY kitchen), but overall, very comfortable. Also, it would have nice to have an extra role of toilet paper and some dish soap provided.'

Claudio Racanella from New York, ITALY; January 2011:
'Apartment is small but very nice , clean and quiet! Neighborhood is secure and near to services (subway,grocery store,starbucks,ecc). If you plan to cook inside,just consider to bring something extra...kitchen is poorly equipped. i'll recommend it!'

richard eaton from rochester, ny; January 2011:
'We stayed there over Xmas 2010, location is great, lots of resturaunts, subway about 200 yards away, grocery store (Fairway and Trader Joes also within a few blocks. Place has no coffeemaker (bring / buy a french press or make instant, there is a teakettle) and tiny kitchen but is fine for bkfst and leftovers (has microwave). Clean (no bugs or dirt) and LOTS of windows and interesting views, very close to central park too. Space is limited, there is a small dresser and desk, but it is really a 2 person MAX space. Full bathroom has full tub/shower but would be cramped if you were 6'6 and 250 #. We will be back!'

Kathleen Bartell from Syracuse, NY, USA; December 2010:
' We had a delightful stay in NYC the weekend before Christmas. This apartment was perfect for our visit. Extremely convenient location. Excellent breakfast spots nearby. Transportation easy...close to Central Park. The bed was very comfortable. A tad drafty, but we were only there to sleep. Nice that the kitchenette is separate from the sleeping area. We would stay here again!'

Aurore P from , France; December 2010:
'We enjoyed our stay in New York. The size of the apartment was good enough for 2 persons. The building is old but very well-located (safe environment), closed to 3 subway stations, grocery stores, Central Park, Strawberry field and museums. We had some issues with the bathroom and the heater but Michael and Christina helped us out to find solutions. I would recommend to bring a set of extra towels for the future visitors and for the owners to get more kitchen ustensils. Have fun in New York City!!!'

Cassandra Picha from Bainbridge Island, WA, usa; November 2010:
'Location is terrific. The apartment is small, but served our needs just fine. It would be helpful to have more than one towel per person available in a 5-night stay. Also, the hot water faucet in the shower leaks, shooting a small spray of really hot water at the person in the shower, and making the faucet handle very hot to the touch. We appreciated the nice Bose CD player. Thank you.'

Sylvio Salles from Santos, Brazil; October 2010:
'We loved to stay at this charming apartment at 71 st street. Very clean and a wonderful location, just 2 blocks from Central Park. The owners are very polite and have a good communication, we would like to return next year for sure....'

Lena Neßmann from Münster, Germany; October 2010:
'Ein sehr schönes und sauberes Apartment in zentraler Lage. Die Subway-Station war direkt um die Ecke, ebenso wie Frühstücks- und Einkaufsmöglichkeiten. Die Schlüsselübergabe hat reibungslos funktioniert. Der Kontakt mit Michael im Vorfeld war sehr nett, vielen Dank dafür! '

Mário Morais from , Portugal; October 2010:
'We enjoyed the place. It´s very local. Both subway and bus stop are a few steps away. Although the apartement is very tiny it serves the purpouse very well. Very large bed, and confortable. Just a remark, two sets of bath towels would be nice, since we walk all day...'

Ruth Nightingale from London, UK; April 2010:
'Nice little apartment in a really great location to get around. Good to have lots of natural light in a NY apartment. All the basics that you need are there - except the corkscrew or bottle opener!'

Judith Ben David from bs. as. cap. fed., Argentina; April 2010:
'All was OK! The apartament is very confortable and nice and the town is kiu. The subway is near, only one blok. And there are many supermarkets very near. I hope come back any time more!!!! Thank you for all.'

Vanessa Lerma from San Diego, CA, United States; March 2010:
'My husband and I recently visited New York City for the first time and stayed in this adorable studio. The studio was clean and comfortable and had a lot of charm! The location was absolutely perfect. Central Park was two blocks away! The neighborhood was safe and had many restaurants and amenities nearby! We would definitely consider staying here again on our next visit!'

David Hebert from Montreal, Canada; January 2010:
'Very convenient location, less than a minute from the subway and ±5 minutes from Central Park. The unit is not very spacious so tenants should not expect to be doing much cooking in it. Maybe add a bit on everyday use tools such as a cork screw...'

Sabrina Hernandez from Saint-Martin, ; December 2009:
'Logement conforme à la description, emplacement géographique idéal (1 station de métro de times square), et à côté de Central park. Restaurants et épiceries à proximité (ouvertes la nuit). Les plus ; lit très confortable, télé, internet, ascenseur. Les moins : seulement deux grandes serviettes de toilettes à disposition pour 7 jours, salle d'eau un peu étroite. Mais globalement, c'est une bonne adresse à recommander !'

Thom from PA, USA; November 2009:
'The coffee maker is not in the best shape. The apartment is in a great location and very clean.'

Carol Hunter from San Diego, USA; November 2009:
'Since you have chosen NOT to supply more than one roll of toilet paper for a week, tissues, paper towels, a dishrag in the kitchen for wiping down the counter and washing glassware, as well as furnishing only one wash rag and hand towel for 2 people, you should post this on your website. That way people are prepared for what they need to bring or buy. Couples should also know that only one set of keys is available. We were told we could go to a hardware store and purchase another set of keys. I was also told the day after checking in, that when the owners are in town, one set of keys is sufficient. That may work for you, but you are hosts and we are guests. Customer service often requires accommodating people who don't share your habits. The location is excellent.'

Andreas Grunwald from Stuttgart, Germany; September 2009:
'Very nice little apartement. Only one minute to 72th Street Subway, only 5 minutes to the Park. Michael and Christina, who rent the apartement, are very nice persons. Recommendable!!!'

Caroline from Toronto, Canada; July 2009:
'The location couldn't be better - super convenient for subway, Central Park, nice walk home from Lincoln Centre after an evening performance, great neighbourhood. I stayed here with my teenage daughter so all the above aspects were much appreciated as well as the quiet building and clean apartment. It was also very helpful to be able to make arrangements to store luggage nearby on departure day. Michael is very helpful and quick to respond to any queries and I found all communication and booking arrangements were handled very well, despite my initial ineptitude with PayPal!'

druh ireland from Lions Bay, Canada; June 2009:
'the bed is good. the kitchen is adequate, i'm wondering if people don't cook in NY... the building is old and shabby, some might call it charming... location is good, as is the neighborhood'

Dave Bell from Sydney, Australia; June 2009:
'The apartment had a perfect location right near the subway, central park, and walking distance to times square, also plenty of supermarkets and restaurants around. Apartment was nice and clean, and a good size for one or two people. Had a great stay'

Jody from San Francisco, USA; May 2009:
'Nice bedroom with views of rooftops, comfortable bed. Brita filtered waiting in the fridge a nice touch. Great neighborhood and two steps from the subway.'

John Ley from Sydney, Australia; May 2009:
'The location was excellent near 72nd St subway and Central Park. The kitchen needed to have more cutlery and utensils for cooking. We felt the apartment was overpriced but perhaps this is normal for the city.'

Lorena Hansen from Muinch, Germany; May 2009:
'Very nice apartment. Great that everything is so close: the subway, central park and even timesquare is reachable on foot. '

ellen biderman from Santa fe, USA; January 2009:
'The apartment is perfectly located, but priced above other listing on VRBO for the same size accomodation. The bathroom sink didn't work and many many cable TV stations (most importantly to us, CNN) were not functioning. We called the number given on the TV and they said a digital connection was missing.'

wieke van dijk from amsterdam, NL; December 2008:
'Loved our stay in this apartment! The neigbourhood was very pleasant, as well as the connection to the subway and the park this close to the building. Everything is very clean and the owners were very nice and helpful. The room was not very big but I'm sure NY standards are different to what we are used to. Definately a good place to stay!!'

Bryanne Moore from Chester, NH, USA; November 2008:
'The apartment was very clean and very easy to find. The check in process went smoothly. We loved the neighborhood feel of the area and the fact that there was a subway station right around the corner, as well as a Starbucks and many little stores. We stayed for 2 nights and would definitely come back again! Thanks for a great experience!'

Richard knights from Leeds, UK; November 2008:
'Great appartment and fantastic location. Throughly enjoyed my stay. Hopefully repeat the experience again next year!'

Barbara Znidarsic from Edmonton, Canada; November 2008:
'The apartment was nice, however its condition was a little more run down than I had anticipated from the pictures. Unfortunately the paint had been damaged in the bathroom on the ceiling just before we got there, but that wasn't a problem. It would be better if the blinds were dark, as the white ones let a lot of light in in the morning. The bed was very comfortable. The outlet in the bathroom didn't work. The area was great, very nice, close to Central Park and the subway.'

Bob and Margie Marvin from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada; October 2008:
'Thank you for a wonderful week in NY city! The location of your apartment was fantastic with the subway around the corner and great deli shops at every corner. Thanks for your prompt attention to the burnt out light and the missing hand soap. Thanks also for the grapefruit and the flowers...a very nice touch. A couple of suggestions: Hand towels would be good and a perhaps a change of bath towels mid week. Just a note of interest to other visitors...there is a great bike rental shop within walking distance of the apartment (Togo Bike Shop on 64th Street and West End Road). We rode all around Manhattan and Central Park.'

sandle dahl from seattle, USA; October 2008:
'We had a great stay, the location was perfect. Would recommend at least 3 kitchen towels, 4 bath towels and at least 2 washcloths for a 5-7 day stay. Salt and pepper would have been nice also plus a roll of paper towels. The TV and Bose were quite nice. Thank-you .Sandle and Mark Dahl '

Christian W. from Nittel, Germany; October 2008:
'We had a great time in NY. The appartment is perfectly situated. The new check-in process is also very convenient. Last but not least we really appreciated Micheals help with all our questions. Thanks! Nato and Chris'

marcelo mascheroni from mexico city, mexico; October 2008:
'great location, clean, very good deal!'

Angela Reader from Hamburg, Germany; September 2008:
'We loved the location and felt really at home on the Upper West Side. The Express Metro means you can get down town in no time at all. The apartment is only 2 blocks from Central Park so if you feel like adding another 8 km to your walking day its great for joggers etc. The apartment itself is very bright and quiet. It's in an old building and could do with some restoration. We stayed for 10 nights so a change of towels and bedding would have been appreciated. However, Im sure that if we had asked Michael and Cristina would have provided them. They are very helpful and always just an e-mail away :o) We cant wait to get back to NYC and will definitely check out one of Michael & Cristinas apartments again.'

NYC ApartmentStatue of LibertyTimes SquareThe Brooklyn BridgeRockefeller CenterCentral ParkEmpire State Building NYCMetropolitan OperaMuseums